What happens if I don’t re-subscribe after the first year? Will I lose any upgraded songs?
Nope. Any songs you’ve upgraded or downloaded again are completely safe. The only thing you lose is the central storage—iCloud will no longer let you stream or download matched or uploaded songs to your various devices.